The Care Certificate

The Care Certificate was developed with the non-regulated workforce as its primary audience. Developed as part of the Cavendish Review, The Care Certificate aims to provide a consistent standard of introductory skills, knowledge and behaviours to each member of staff to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate:

  • is the beginning of the career journey for those new to care
  • is a foundation for health and adult social care integration
  • ensures those new to the sector are supported
  • is endorsed by the Care Quality Commission (CQC)
  • is a CQC expectation – all employers should now be offering it.

Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff working at various levels to refresh or improve their knowledge and skills and requires learners to not only undertake the theoretical component but also components which involve assessment within the workplace.

What does the certificate cover?

The Care Certificate consists of 15 standards which are as follows:

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding Children
  12. Basic Life Support
  13. Health and Safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

How can we help you?

Understanding the health and social care sector and the various influences or difficulties faced by organisations, Medline Consultancy Limited are able to support you with the delivery of this training through face to face sessions delivered by our experienced Healthcare Professional Trainers and Assessors. Whether you have one or two members of your staff or even more who need this training please either visit our shop or get in touch with us.